The first reference to Broughton Quarry was in 1622. In 1730, a large number of Huguenot refugees, mainly silk weavers, fled religious persecution in France and settled in the area we now know as Picardy Place (from the French region from whence most of them came), Broughton Street, parts of Forth Street, Hart Street and Union Street. At that time the area was a little village which was known as Picardie and their homes were built of stone from the Broughton Quarry. It is unknown when this quarry closed but the Edinburgh Philosophical Journal, volume 1, of 1819 makes reference to the greenstone quarry of Broughton being covered up. It tells us that greenstone (whin) was quarried here which gives us an indication of what these ancient houses, of which there are no trace, were made of. Although the photo below of Picardy Place is much more modern it is still a fascinating glimpse into the past of the area. Any guesses as to the date of this photo would be welcome!